October 8, 2015

Review - Beyond What is Given by Rebecca Yarros

Enter to Win a
Kindle Fire HD7
(US & INT)

Flight & Glory #3
Rebecca Yarros
Releasing Sept 28th, 2015
Entangled Embrace

Lt. Grayson Masters is focused on graduating the Apache helicopter course, and the last thing he needs is his gorgeous new roommate Samantha Fitzgerald distracting him. While her smart mouth and free spirit are irresistibly irritating, he can’t deny their off-the-charts chemistry, no matter how hard he tries.

Having just been expelled from college, Sam has no business digging for Grayson’s secrets while she’s hiding her own, but that doesn’t stop her from trying to tear down his walls. Each barrier she busts through drops one of her own, though, and she’s not prepared for the truth: another woman laid claim to Grayson’s heart long ago.

Falling in love is something neither Grayson nor Sam can afford, and when that line is crossed and secrets are exposed, they’ll learn that sometimes it’s the answered prayers that will put you through hell.


Rebecca Yarros is a hopeless romantic and lover of all things chocolate, coffee, and Paleo. In addition to being a mom, military wife, and blogger, she can never choose between Young Adult and New Adult fiction, so she writes both. She's a graduate of Troy University, where she studied European history and English, but still holds out hope for an acceptance letter to Hogwarts. Her blog, The Only Girl Among Boys, has been voted the Top Military Mom Blog the last two years, and celebrates the complex issues surrounding the military life she adores.

When she's not writing, she's tying on hockey skates for her kids, or sneaking in some guitar time. She is madly in love with her army-aviator husband of eleven years, and they're currently stationed in Upstate NY with their gaggle of rambunctious kiddos and snoring English Bulldog, but she would always rather be home in Colorado.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads

My 5 Star Review

A love story that rivals other love stories, that is what Beyond What is Given is to me. This story made me feel so many different things. It broke my heart in two, made me question myself and almost drove me to drink. I see people say that a lot and I laugh, but I don’t think I have really experienced it until now. If it wasn’t 9 am when I was reading this I would have definitely drank!

"One mistake doesn’t define your life.”

Samantha Fitzgerald is on the run from her past and her mistakes. Her life has taken a complete detour after getting kicked out of school. Her life has lost direction and she is struggling with her guilt and feelings of failure. Where do you go when the life you had planned goes up in flames, to your family. Since her only biological family, her mom, is in Afghanistan she decides to run to her chosen family. Josh and Jagger have a room open and offer her a place to stay in Alabama. 

Grayson Masters is closed off and isolated, no one knows who the real Grayson is, even his roommates and closest friends. I have been intrigued with Grayson from the very beginning. He is always running home to North Carolina, he doesn’t date, and is completely focused on being the best Apache pilot. I always admired his dedication, but didn’t really understand it. Now that I do, I love Grayson, for serious, he is my favorite. Grayson is driven, compassionate, caring and self-sacrificing. 

"She’s all fire, and sass, and a touch of insanity, I’m pretty sure. But she does something to me, makes me see the world again.” 

When Sam moves in with Jagger, Josh and Grayson it seems like a recipe for disaster. At first the two appear to be complete opposites and despite their attraction to each other, are not fans of the other. Regardless, they can’t help the pull they feel towards the other. From here, have your drink ready. I swear when these two started to fall my heart was breaking, but in the most wonderful way. I was in, completely invested and dying for more.

Beyond What is Given is not the kind of book you put down, no it’s the kind of book you start and finish in one day. It’s the kind of book you stop and breathe, but then jump right back in. It’s the kind of book you rush to finish because you want to see what happens next, but then immediately regret rushing when you finish. This book gave me a massive book hangover and I just wanted more. If you haven’t read this series yet, stop waiting and jump in!

The Flight and Glory Series features different couples, but are all related.

ARC kindly provided in exchange for an honest review. 

No comments

Post a Comment